Photo of a doctor in Erie PA by LECOM

Faculty Profile

Zachary Heeter, Pharm.D., B.C.P.S., B.C.G.P.

LECOM Missing Default Picture

Assistant Dean for the Accelerated Pathway

  • Teaching Area


  • Education

    LECOM School of Pharmacy- Pharm. D.

  • Residency

    PGY1 Pharmacy Residency, Millcreek Community Hospital

  • Campus Location

    1858 W. Grandview Blvd. Erie, PA 16509
    Phone: (814) 860-5156


Dr. Zachary Heeter completed his prerequisite coursework at Edinboro University of Pennsylvania before attending the LECOM School of Pharmacy in Erie, Pennsylvania to receive his Doctor of Pharmacy degree. After graduation, Dr. Heeter completed a Postgraduate Year One Pharmacy Residency at Millcreek Community Hospital in Erie, Pennsylvania before accepting a faculty position at the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) School of Pharmacy, which was a new program at the time. While at UMES, Dr. Heeter assisted in establishing the curriculum for the School of Pharmacy and taught lectures in the Nephrology, Cardiology, Immunology/Rheumatology, and the Integration of Pharmacy Practice course series. Additionally, he established a new practice site in Inpatient Internal Medicine with the Hospitalist team at the Peninsula Regional Medical Center in Salisbury, Maryland and assisted in the implementation of a Postgraduate Year One pharmacy residency program at the hospital.

Dr. Heeter returned to LECOM as a faculty member in 2014 and continued to teach topics related to Nephrology, Cardiology, Immunology/Rheumatology, and Infectious Diseases. Dr. Heeter’s practice site was an inpatient Internal Medicine and Rehabilitation site at Millcreek Community Hospital on the facility’s Acute Care for the Elderly, Transitional Care, and Inpatient Rehabilitation Units. He also served as the School of Pharmacy’s Director of Residency Education for several years, managing the hospital’s Postgraduate Year One Pharmacy Residency and Postgraduate Year Two Geriatric Pharmacy Residency. Currently, Dr. Heeter is the Assistant Dean for the Accelerated Pathway and a Professor of Pharmacy Practice in the LECOM School of Pharmacy, and the LECOM Institutional Director for Medical Marijuana Research.