Wisconsin Player Wins Kazmaier Award presented by LECOM

Wisconsin Badger Meghan Duggan won the top women’s hockey award, the 2011 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award presented by LECOM. In its 14th year, the award is presented annually by The USA Hockey Foundation to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey.

Duggan, a senior forward from Danvers, Mass., received the award during a sold-out brunch ceremony at the Erie Bayfront Convention Center, with more than 400 attendees present. She was chosen from a group of three finalists that also included senior forwards Meghan Agosta (Ruthven, Ont./Mercyhurst College) and Kelli Stack (Brooklyn Heights, Ohio/Boston College).

"Meghan is probably the best two-way player, not only in the country, but in the world," said Mark Johnson, head coach at the University of Wisconsin. "One of the reasons we're in the position we're in right now is because of her leadership and what she does on the ice, and probably more importantly, what she does off the ice."

Local news interviews 2011 Kazmaier Award winner Meghan Duggan.

Amidst a standout senior season, Duggan was near the top of the NCAA leaderboard in all offensive categories and recently led the Badgers as captain to the NCAA national championship game.

In introductions during the ceremony, USA Hockey Foundation President Ron DeGregorio recognized LECOM for sponsoring the 2011 award. DeGregorio recognized LECOM Provost Silvia M. Ferretti, DO for her leadership at the nation’s largest medical school.

USA Hockey Foundation President Ron DeGregorio presents team jersey to LECOM Provost Silvia M. Ferretti. On left is Patrick F. Leary, DO, director of LECOM Sports Medicine program and on right is USA Hockey Communications Manager Christy Cahill.

An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is supported, in part, by a grant from the NHL Foundation.

The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died on Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.

The Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and LECOM School of Pharmacy offer innovative and affordable education in osteopathic medicine and pharmacy. From campuses in Erie, Pennsylvania, Greensburg, Pennsylvania and Bradenton, Florida, LECOM provides student-centered pathways to prepare the next generation of healthcare professionals. Prepare yourself for medicine as your life’s profession.

March 19, 2011
  • Comment