LECOM student pharmacists initiated into honor society
Rho Chi welcomes 27 students and Dean Bell to its ranks

Hershey Bell, M.D., M.S., Dean of the LECOM School of Pharmacy, congratulates Kelly Shaw on her induction into the Rho Chi Society. Looking on is Kim Burns, R.Ph., J.D., Rho Chi Faculty Adviser.

ERIE, Pa — The Gamma Tau Chapter of the Rho Chi Society inducted 27 students from the Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine School of Pharmacy into its membership during a ceremony on Saturday, Feb. 19, 2011, at the Bayfront Convention Center in Erie, Pa. LECOM School of Pharmacy Dean Hershey Bell, M.D., M.S., was also initiated into the honor society.

Andrew Grimone, Pharm.D., Clinical Pharmacy Manager at Saint Vincent Health System in Erie, gave the keynote address. He inspired the new inductees to become leaders in the pharmacy profession. Dr. Grimone, a graduate of the University of Pittsburgh School of Pharmacy, told the student pharmacists that their patients will come to them for trust and guidance.

LECOM's Rho Chi chapter inducted 27 students and School of Pharmacy Dean Hershey Bell, M.D., M.S., into its ranks. Standing (L-R): Janene Madras, Pharm.D., Rho Chi Advisor, Kim Burns, R.Ph., J.D., Rho Chi Adviser, Dr. Bell, Andrew Grimone, Pharm.D., keynote speaker, Cory Ulisse, Rho Chi Historian, Vanessa Lewis, Rho Chi Vice President, and Lauren Hajdu, Rho Chi Treasurer.

"For many, many years the pharmacy profession has been recognized as one of the most trusted professions," Dr. Grimone said. "People look to us because we give them advice and we have their lives in our hands. I think it's important to entrust that message upon all of the students that will go out and practice pharmacy."

Hsin Li, incoming Rho Chi President presented a gift basket to Andrew Grimone, Pharm.D., for giving the keynote speech at LECOM's Rho Chi ceremony.

Hsin Li, one of the inductees and incoming Rho Chi President, said becoming a member of Rho Chi was one of the goals he set for himself when he came to pharmacy school. "I wanted to excel academically," Li said. "I wanted to really push myself to achieve the highest echelon of pharmacy. I'm glad that I accomplished that."

Rho Chi recognizes individual academic achievement and encourages high standards of leadership, professionalism, conduct and character in all of its members. Dr. Grimone said the inductees should be proud of their accomplishment. "These students are the ones that have proven by their academics and other requirements that they are truly the elite and at the top of their class," said Dr. Grimone.

This year's inductees from the Class of 2011 are: Skyler DeBlasio, Rachel McCoy, Jennifer Shaffer, Chi Le, Katie Krise and Kelly Shaw. The Class of 2012 initiates are Harry Aldrich, Milos Blagojevic, Agata Boggs, Zachary Bouchat-Friedman, Ling Chen, Charles Clendenin, Megan Cody, Christopher Cotton, Ashley Dawson, Kaitlyn Fagan, Matthew Flint, Roy Fornwalt II, Jessica Ledwich, Hsin Li, Joshua Miller, Donna Mott, Kim Pham, Raey Taye, Karey Tyler, Brandon Wilds, and Riley Williams II.

LECOM's Rho Chi chapter inducted new members at Erie's Bayfront Convention Center.  The new members pictured front row (L-R): Agata Boggs, Kelly Shaw, Jennifer Shaffer, Ling Ivy Chen, Christopher Cotton, Kaitlyn Fagan, Jessica Ledwich, Donna Mott, Kim Thuc Pham, Karey Tyler, and Raey Taye.  Back Row (L-R): Harry Aldrich, Milos Blagojevic, Zachary Bouchat-Friedman, Megan Cody, Ashley Dawson, Matthew Flint, Hsin Li, Joshua Miller, Brandon Wilds, Riley Williams II, and Dr. Bell.


The Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine and LECOM School of Pharmacy offer innovative and affordable education in osteopathic medicine and pharmacy. From campuses in Erie, Pennsylvania, Greensburg, Pennsylvania and Bradenton, Florida, LECOM provides student-centered pathways to prepare the next generation of healthcare professionals. Prepare yourself for medicine as your life s profession.


February 22, 2011
  • Comment