LECOM brings its Erie, Bradenton pharmacy schools together in Washington

Students, faculty participate in American Pharmacists Association conference

Students from the LECOM School of Pharmacy in Erie and Bradenton joined together in Washington, D.C., during the 2010 American Pharmacists Association conference.

LECOM School of Pharmacy students and administrators in Erie, Pa., and Bradenton, Fla., came together at the recent American Pharmacists Association (APhA) conference in Washington, D.C., to learn more about the practice of pharmacy and to collaborate with other APhA student chapters from across the country.

Students Jennifer Kilanowski-Chromik (Erie) and Nathaly Grullon (Bradenton) participated in the National Patient Counseling Competition, representing both LECOM campuses. Additionally, Abby Kahaleh, PhD, Director of Experiential Education, and Fallon Enfinger, PharmD, each participated in the conference. Dr. Kahaleh completed the Pharmacy-Based Immunization Delivery Certificate program, judged poster presentations and served as a Pennsylvania representative at the house of delegates.

Dr. Enfinger participated in the item writer/reviewer workshop for the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties’ new Ambulatory Care Specialty examination, which will be given for the first time in October 2011. Additionally, she spoke at the Florida Pharmacy Association reception.

Janene Madras, PharmD, Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice and Director of Admissions and Student Services, and Kim Burns, RPh, JD, Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences, also attended the conference. Dr. Burns co-presented two-hour continuing education lectures on medication errors and liability and "Hot Topics in Pharmacy Law." In addition, Dr. Burns attended the American Society for Pharmacy Law Board Meeting and was inducted as ASPL President, having previous held the title of President-Elect for the organization.

In addition, Dr. Burns moderated a two-hour session titled “FDA Update” and judged clinical posters for APhA at the conference. She also attended the Remington Dinner in honor of Mary-Anne Koda Kimble and hosted the ASPL reception. At the reception, she presented the ASPL awards to their respective recipients.

Dr. Madras’ contributions to the APhA meeting included evaluating posters and obtaining an APhA certificate of achievement titled “Pharmaceutical Care for Patients with Diabetes.” In addition, she was certified by the APhA Train the Trainer course to teach other pharmacists or students about immunizations.

Dr. Kahaleh invited preceptors and students to a reception hosted by the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association and all the schools of pharmacy in Pennsylvania, including LECOM, during the conference, which brought together students, pharmacists and preceptors from across the state to meet up and learn more about opportunities in Pennsylvania.

“The main purpose of the reception was to help students, faculty and preceptors from across Pennsylvania network and, specifically, to inspire students and help them become more active participants in the decision-making processes that shape the practice of pharmacy at professional organizations,” Dr. Kahaleh said.

“Dr. Enfinger and Dr. Kahaleh are to be congratulated on their efforts to bring the pharmacy students together at this national meeting,” said Hershey Bell, MD, MS, Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of the LECOM School of Pharmacy. “This demonstrates the unity of the LECOM School of Pharmacy across our campuses.”

Students who attended the conference from LECOM Erie include Jennifer Bailey, Nate Dahl, Skyler DeBlasio, Scott Nellis, Eric Schaefer, Trena Schooley, John Schools, Ben Vroman, Cory Ulisse and Riley Williams II. Students from LECOM Bradenton include James Le, Jayme Dinsmore, Nathaly Grullon, Angeline Xiao Cheng, Olutola Ajanaku, Krupali Shah, Melinda Buchanan, Rebecca Nelson, Pratima Patel, Angel Yu, Lucas Reinhartz, Vishva Gandhi and Peris Mukundi.

March 18, 2010
  • Comment