LECOM Rho Chi chapter inducts new members

Faculty and staff of the LECOM School of Pharmacy presided over the initiation of 25 new members of the Rho Chi, the national pharmacy academic honor society.

Fulfilling its mission to encourage and recognize excellence in intellectual achievements in the study of pharmacy, the LECOM School of Pharmacy Gamma Tau Chapter of the Rho Chi Society officially inducted 25 new members into the national academic honor society in pharmacy.

The ceremony took place at the Ambassador Banquet and Conference Center in Erie on Feb. 8. Eighteen members of the School of Pharmacy class of 2010, six members of the class of 2009 and one faculty member were lauded for their individual achievements in the study and promotion of pharmacy.

Daniel Rogers, PharmD ‘05, was the keynote speaker for the celebration. Dr. Rogers worked for 25 years in the paper industry in various capacities before entering the LECOM School of Pharmacy as the oldest member of the school’s inaugural class. He was in the first class of inductees into the LECOM chapter of Rho Chi and was awarded the Community Service award at graduation. Since graduation, he has been a staff pharmacist at the Regional Cancer Center in Erie and is currently a member of the Board of Directors for the Mercy Center for Women in Erie.

Inductees from the class of 2009 are Lisa Ezzo, Kathryn Fuhrmann, Melissa Pierce, Carly Sanfrey, John Schlie and Lindsay Wormuth. Class of 2010 inductees include Megan Anderson, Earlene Bosga, Stephanie Clark, Jessica Condello, Kimberly Czajka, Caitlyn Do, Elizabeth Ghebreselassi, Christi Giang, Amy Gramse, Stephanie Guiffreda, Alyssa Maglio, Angela Mazzei, Laurence Namdar, Beth Ann Planiczki, Jeremy Scott, Son Tran, Brianne Wolf and Emily Wysocki. The faculty initiate is Ashok Philip, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences.

February 9, 2009
  • Comment