LECOM Mentors Join the Tip-off to Start the Erie BayHawks Home Season

The Erie BayHawks saluted the LECOM Erie Mentoring Clubs as the NBA-D League team played the club’s first home game.

LECOM second-year medical students Faith Nimer and Dana Mahmoud joined six children from the Erie Housing Authority and YMCA after school programs. The children carried the game ball out to center court and handed the ball to the referees and team captains to start the game.

The college encourages students to become active community leaders while stressing academic success. The LECOM Mentoring Clubs works with the Erie Housing Authority and the YMCA of Erie after school program. These top medical and pharmacy students provide quality educational programming for the children that live in Erie Heights and the John Horan Apartments. As mentors they act as positive role models for the children with the goal of making a difference in the life of a child. Additionally, the mentors strive to instill a love for education and learning in the children.

Joining, the LECOM students are members of The YMCA John Horan Garden Apartments Kid's Club Kiwanis Chorus. This group has been together for 10 years. They practice weekly under the leadership of Agnes Priscaro, Executive Director of MHEDS and Chairwoman of the Erie Housing Authority. Chorus participants are 9-14 years old. They share their songs with organizations in the community 1-2 times a month at places such as St. Mary's, Soldiers and Sailors Home, Friendship Towers and many other senior citizens buildings.

Dana Mahmoud, OMS-II and Faith Nimer, OMS-II joined the YMCA Kiwanis Choir members as they presented the game ball at center court at the start of the BayHawks home opener.
For the second year, LECOM is the major sponsor for the Erie BayHawks. The College Sports Medicine group provides team physicians at every home game and medical care for injured players. The team practices at the LECOM John M. & Silvia Ferretti Medical Fitness and Wellness Center. Above are team physicians, Anthony Jon Ferretti, DO; Patrick Leary, DO; Troy Thompson, DO; and Gregory Coppola, DO.

December 14, 2009
  • Comment